Ever since Love Notions Patterns released the Everyday Playdress, I have had a crush on these patterns! It really suits Nora’s style, comfy yet twirly.  I sewed into some of my precious Euroknit fabric for this dress.  Most Love Notions patterns are made for knit fabrics, I love me some comfy, stretchy cotton knit fabric (like a T shirt).  Knits can be tricky to sew on a regular machine, because they stretch the machine tends to want to pull the fabric down and eat it.  But I use a serger whenever possible which makes sewing knits so much easier.  The serger magically feeds the fabric through the machine while cutting off excess fabric and making a beautifully finished seam.  The patterns all include some tips for sewing with knit fabric.  The pattern tutorials are clearly worded and include photos every step of the way.  They are really well done.

The Everyday Playdress

 

DSC_0015DSC_0002 DSC_0027

The pattern includes this cute crossover bodice view, perfect for mixing fabrics, and a more traditional T-shirt style bodice.

I based this Elsa dress on the playdress pattern too.  I changed the bodice and mashed it with an Elsa apron pattern I have.  I changed the skirt to an A -Line shape and added a slit like Elsa’s.

DSC_0418 DSC_0420

I used powermesh fabric on the sleeves which she doesn’t love, sometimes she calls it her “itchy Elsa dress.”  She was happy with her Elsa braid though.  It makes a good Elsa playdress, and she does ask to wear it, itchy or not!  I still would like to tweak it a little, someday maybe…   This view would make a cute Snow White play dress too!

The Love Notions Tuxedo dress is also fun!  My son loves penguins.  He asked to throw his penguin a birthday party and this was the perfect dress for the occasion.  The penguin applique isn’t included in the pattern, I had to create one to go along with the tuxedo theme 🙂

DSC_0041DSC_0004DSC_0005

Some of the party guests and decor 🙂

2014-06-08 11.48.382014-06-08 11.48.48

I am not quite sure how he convinced me to throw a party for a penguin, but it was a good time.

Back to the patterns…

I love the length of the dress, but thought a ruffle at the bottom would look cute too (this is included in the pattern).  Oh look, the penguin’s belly fell off, I never quite finished stitching it on after ironing on the fusible bonding stuff, one of these days I will get to it!

2014-07-09 16.00.232014-07-09 15.58.53

The dress also includes some baby sizes (it starts at 6 months and goes up to a 14), so Rory had to get a tuxedo dress too!

2014-06-26 12.03.14

This is the Trendy Tunic, I made it in golf fabric because Owen was competing in a Drive, Chip, Putt competition.

2014-07-02 15.07.522014-07-02 13.55.35

It has great pockets for storing, golf balls, tees, dead grass, you name it!

It was fun watching Owen compete, and he won 2nd place for putting!

2014-07-02 15.53.42 2014-07-02 15.53.46

The newest Love Notions Pattern is the Cartwheel Collection.  This set offers 6 different pieces.  I tested the size 3 dress version, with size 2 shorts.  It came together really easily and has some interest in the back with the peek a boo view.  The dress is really cute.  The designer Tami is so good about taking feedback from the testers and the final dress pattern is a bit longer than shown here.  The shorts are just peeking out.  Next time I might just shorten the shorts rather than lengthen the dress.

DSC_0121 DSC_0123

Here is the peek a boo detail

DSC_0175DSC_0147

I love the shorts with them, perfect for sitting criss-cross applesauce at circle time when she starts preschool this fall.

DSC_0141 DSC_0144

She isn’t turning cartwheels yet, but the shorts work great for somersaults too.

DSC_0133DSC_0134DSC_0138

Love Notions Patterns are just great patterns!  I have so many ideas for more Love Notions preschool outfits for Nora 🙂

