Love these patterns!  Baby Rory got quite a few nice new things from this pattern bundle!  It includes two hat patterns, two pants patterns and a gown, T-shirt and a onesie bodysuit pattern.  I love sewing with soft stretchy fabric and most of these patterns call for that, so right away I was interested!  When I got the pattern I fell in love with the lined pants with cute pocket details, so first I sewed up these Roly Poly pants, I had some of this very cute fabric called Urban Elephants that I have been hoarding for the right project.

Image

Image

Don’t these look so cute on my little crawler?  This view shows off the back pockets too, they are cut with a chevron point.

This fabric is directional.  Remeber, if you want to turn up the cuff and have the elephants standing correctly, be sure that when you cut the lining, that you cut it upside down.  Ask me how I know!

Actually it was a happy accident, because I have been wanting to try using a knit fabric lining, so I used the accidental elephants for the outer and a cotton interlock for the inner.  Interlock was a good choice for the lining because it has one way stretch.  The stretchy part needs to stretch across the body.  The fabric doesn’t stretch in the up and down direction which made it easier to attach it to the outer elephant fabric

Image

I really love how these turned out, and they sewed up really quick without the pockets.  Here are the two pairs together, it could be so cute for twins.  Imagine how cozy it would be in fleece!  I predict some fleece lined pants coming this winter to a baby near you.

Image

The Comfy Caterpillar Easy Knit pants were a breeze, I love pants that have a cuff waist, no need to insert elastic!  I used my serger on these and it probaby took longer to cut the fabric than construct the pants.  Here they are paired up with the Bitty Beetle Bodysuit.  I used more fun fabric, this time I cut into some Elmo faces!  My sister in law bought Nora a dress made from this fabric a while back and when I saw yardage of it, I had to have more!  Its really super soft!!

ImageImageImageImage

We had a fun little photoshoot before big brother’s baseball game!

After making the first bodysuit, I played around with the pattern a bit, to try to make it into a onesie/dress similar to ones Nora used to wear.  And I came up with this; Image

The Back:

Image

The front is a full double layer, grey dots and the unicorns go up the full front.  I flared out the pattern for the unicorn print, in a wide A-Line from the underarm to about where the leg hole curve starts.  For the back, the top is just unicorns then I added a seam where I started the double layer of unicorns and dots, again flaring the outer layer.  To keep it summery I omitted the sleeves and sewed the cuff around the armholes.  I added the band to the bottom, but a traditional hem would work too!  I just added the snaps at night so a modeled pic will have to wait for the babe in the morning.  I use Kam snaps with the hand pliers, and used to struggle until I started snipping the tips of with nail clippers, it works like a charm.

Boo for another rainy day and indoor photos (and they cancelled Owen’s field day today!), but the fit is great!  I should have stretched the neck binding more as I sewed, my fault, not the patterns!

DSC_0023 DSC_0022DSC_0026

This is another versatile gender neutral Stitchwerx pattern!  I sewed up mostly 6 month stuff for Rory, but the dress is 9 month as I did that one most recently, and her 9 month day was yesterday, where has the time gone?  The bundle is available now and is discounted for a limited time.  There is more included than what I sewed up too.  There is a sleep gown pattern and 2 types of slouchy hats.  The gown and bodysuit come with options for adding mittens.  Sizes start at preemie and go up to 12 months.  You can’t beat that with a stick!  If you want to try them out for yourself, visit https://www.etsy.com/shop/StitchwerxDesigns.  The sale ends June 20.  Or enter to win the patterns and other prizes here!

Have you sewn anything with this pattern?  Please share!

Patternnut

Check out what the other blog tour bloggers are sewing up with these patterns!

Wednesday June 11

Pattern Revolution

Mama Says Sew

The Berry Bunch

Begin With B

Thursday, June 12

Rebekah Sews

Lulu & Celeste

Gloria June

Friday, June 13

Once Upon a Sewing Machine

 Feather’s Flights

Monday, June 16

Golden Rippy

Playground Pixie Designs

Friends Stitched Together

The Life of Jennifer Dawn

Tuesday June 17

Stitch and Bake

Shaffer Sisters

The Life of a Compulsive Crafter

 

 

*Disclaimer:  I received the patterns for free in exchange for participating in the testing process*

 

coming soon – Why I love Love Notions Patterns!

 

 

