The sewing patterns I use and love are written by independent designers.  Each designer typically has a shop on Etsy or Craftsy or has their own website where they sell downloadable digital patterns, often called PDF patterns.  So I buy it and download it, then when ready to sew, I print just the patterns pieces and read the instructions from my computer, tablet or phone.

After buying patterns from a few different designers, certain ones stand out for me.  I heart Candy Castle Patterns!  Rebecca is the designer behind Candy Castle Patterns and she makes a damned good pattern and tutorial.  Her layout is great, with two columns per page, one for written instructions and one for accompanying photos.  I love how she marks the sewing line in purple by drawing it onto the photo using some cool editing program. This really helps me figure out the steps.

I have sewn several of her patterns including:

The Princess Dress

DSC_0242 DSC_0280 DSC_0206 DSC_0220

The bubblegum swing

DSC_0046DSC_0047DSC_0048

The Candy Waltz Collection

PicMonkey Collage1

The Candy Waltz Collection includes three patterns, the  Candy Wrapper vest, which I used on Rory’s Halloween costume (Owen and Rory were both Bumblebees)

DSC_0039

The Licorice Bits Legwarmers,

PicMonkey Collage2

You might even recognize baby Rory, she is featured on the pattern listing!

And the Sugarplum Fairy Skirt

DSC_0319

For this Soda Pop Polo, I used the henley version as a base for this hockey shirt for Owen.  This pattern is designed for knit or stretchy fabrics, I love using my serger on this type of fabric, its so fast and awesome, but the regular sewing machine can still trip me up on this stretchy fabric, it can get pulled into the feed dogs, I hate that.

2014-02-15 14.54.542014-02-15 14.54.39

The pattern includes instructions for the reverse applique.  I added the color blocking after some over-zealous hemming led to a too short shirt.  2014-02-15 13.14.08

I also used the Polo for this  Kristoff shirt.  I made the bit under the “V” too long, but am going to “let it go” its just for dress up.  I used the collar stand without the foldover collar to try to mimic Kristoff’s shirt.

DSC_0187

Princess Anna needs someone to hang out with, right?

2014-03-30 16.52.20 2014-04-17 18.48.40

The Peppermint Swirl dress is the last Candy Castle pattern I want to share with you, and its stunning!  Caution: spontaneous dance parties are known to occur when this dress is in use!  I used a green ombre design for Nora’s skirt and I love how it came out!  I have seen many beautiful versions of this dress including striped and rainbow.  Nora usually loves pink and purple, but I figured she would love how twirly the dress was and not mind the color, it worked 🙂

DSC_0019 DSC_0032 DSC_0044

Great patterns, great instructions, I have learned a lot of sewing techniques from these patterns, and don’t get too confused!  Have you sewn any Candy Castle Patterns?  What patterns are you nuts about?

Chrissy

The Patternnut

